The 8 Steps of Yoga for Enlightenment

Health is a state of mind, wellness is a state of being

The 8 Steps of Yoga for Enlightenment

  • YAMA – Restraints, moral disciplines or moral vows
  • NIYAMA – Positive duties or observances
  • ASANA – Posture
  • PRANAYAMA – Breathing techniques
  • PRATYAHARA – Sense withdrawal
  • DHARANA – Focused concentration
  • DHYANA – Meditative absorption 
  • SAMADHI – Bliss or enlightenment

Let’s take an in-depth look at each Steps:

1.Yama – Virtues

The first limb, yama, deals with one’s discipline integrity in behavior, the ethics of cleaning up one’s act. These universal practices relate to the Golden Rule, “Do unto others” but are also easily summarized as “Cleaning House”. There are five yamas:

A) Non-violence: Ahimsa (kindness, friendliness, and thoughtful consideration of other people and animals. It also has to do with our duties and responsibilities)

B) Truth and Honesty: Satya

C) Non-Stealing: Asteya

D) Non-lust: Brahmacharya

Avoid meaningless sexual encounters, but, as B.K.S. Iyengar says, “see divinity in all.” The idea is to view sex as something that is divine and a union of two divine creatures.

E) Non-possessiveness: Aparigraha. Neutralizing the desire to acquire and hoard wealth

– Take only what you need.
– Take only what you have earned.
– Let go of hoarding & collecting – come to know the providence of God.
– Release attachments – change is the only constant.

2. Niyama – Personal Observances

Niyama is about how we treat ourselves, or begin to cultivate the inner being. These are sometimes called observances, the do’s, or the thou -shalts. There are five niyamas:

A ) Purity: Sauca

Keep the inner body pure by eating clean foods, and keep the outer body and home clean and tidy.

B) Contentment: Santosa

  • Appreciate what you have.
    • Appreciate who you are.
    • Appreciate the small things every day.
    • Seek happiness in the moment, take responsibility for where you are, and choose to grow from there.
    • Live graciously.

C) Austerity: Tapas
Show Disciplined use of energy, in body, speech, and mind.

Attention to body posture, attention to eating habits, attention to breathing patterns – these are all tapas.

D) Study of the sacred text and one’s self: Svadhyaya

Read Sacred texts that are relevant to you and inspire and teach you.

Live with and awareness of the Divine: Isvara pranidhana

E) Surrender to God, to an omnipresent force that guides and directs the course of our lives. Be aware of how the Divine works on our behalf and has left thumbprints all over creation.

3. Asana – staying/abiding in the inner being. 

Asanas are postures that allow the practitioner to discipline the body and the mind. When we approach out mat, we can look at it as an opportunity to exercise both body and mind. This is why we set “mantras” or mottos at the beginning of every class, because as our bodies go through the practice and begin feeling weak or uncomfortable, we choose to find strength by focusing on our motto, be it a theme of love or grace or fearlessness. This meditation retrains our thoughts and reshapes our emotions.

4. Pranayama

Just breathe. It’s a technique used by first responders and Navy SEAL’s, because a person who can control his breathing during an uncomfortable situation can regulate the sympathetic nervous system and prevent an extreme “fight or flight” reaction.

5. Pratyahara

Pratyahara is the withdrawal of the senses from their objects. The natural tendency of the senses is to become distracted or overwhelmed by stimuli around us—be it the news, situations with family and friends, or the ever so annoying traffic jam. But a yoga practitioner learns to disconnect from all white noise and maintain an equanimous state.

6. Dharana

Concentration. One-pointedness. Learning to wield your own ability to focus, not be distracted by it.

7. Dhyana

Dhyana is translated as meditation. There are countless forms of meditation, and science has proven how incredibly beneficial a simple meditation practice can be to both body and mind.


As described by Swami Sivananda this is “The state of consciousness where Absoluteness is experienced; in other words, a true connection with God.

No Comments

Add your comment